suzanne collins' catching fire

Catching Fire

suzanne collins’ catching fire

Book: Adventure. Romance. Post-Apocalyptic. 2nd of a Trilogy

ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview

I was thinking of Noli Me Tangere and El Filibusterismo, the books that led the Philippines into revolution.

Boredom was in my mind and i prepared myself to it as i read the 2nd installment of Mama Suzanne’s Trilogy, Catching Fire. Usually, the second book, (the Two Towers of Lord of the Rings) or the book 2nd to the last (Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince) are all but set up for the third or final chapters of a series. This book is successful in preparing the readers for the third book, actually very successful. Yet it kept the grit and grip, that i finished it quicker than the first.

The Quell could be viewed as a repetition of the previous Hunger Games. Yes it offered the same experience, but the author was wise enough to keep it in a few chapters. Logically, Katniss and Peeta will survive this test for they will still be in the final book so there is no more suspense in there. To keep the excitement, Katniss’ dilemma shifted from who to kill to how could i kill this people. I was not intrigued on how she would survive, or how will they all survive. I had a good prediction. And I was right. Else, it would have not been a good one.

Tears are expected on some chapters. I shed a few on the one where Katniss and Peeta stood in front of the District 11 people and had their adlibs. The ending got my eyes watery as well. I really love revolution.

Hints of premature/premarital sex.

Order of the Phoenix in the house.

What else?

I wasn’t much into the love story this time. But one line, got me, shot me straight to the heart.

“I had to do that. At least once.” – Gale.

Book Three, i just got to read you.

And for a spoiler, i got this picture

last line sa book

and by the way, playing cinna in the movie is Lenny Kravitz

Cinna. Lenny Kravitz. Would have thought of Jude Law first.

But i would prefer this one to have the role.

Raja, winner of Ru Paul’s Drag Race

Leave a Reply

